VGT – PlayStation Plus Network Isn’t Perfect

After such a glowing write up about the PlayStation Plus Network during an earlier post I may have had an influence on some of you to give it a try.  A friend of mine signed up and he has had some negative experiences.  He had recently acquired a Playstation 3 (the original large bloated-looking model) that had a broken disk reader and repaired it.  In the name of fair reporting, I am going to share our text conversation.

Friend: PSN SUCKS!! I DOWNLOAD ALL MY GAMES AND INSTALL THEM, AND SAYS THAT MY LICENSES ARE INVALID??  CAN’T EVEN BROWSE PS STORE UNDER MAINTENANCE!!  utter garbage for a pay service.  I haven’t played 1 ps plus game yet…man if this system wasn’t free I’d take it back to the store

Ted: Did you hack it or something?  Maybe the system knows

Friend: I just replaced the laser in the drive with the same one and upgraded my HD…which is supported.  I left it stock.

Ted: I never had that happen

Maintenance Message Screen

Friend: Got this again this morning..how much maintenance do they do!

Ted: I downloaded a game yesterday with no trouble.  Are they picking on you?  Hey, try to take a clearer picture and I’ll use it on my blog

Thank you for reading that thrilling exchange of dialogue.  I checked on the PlayStation website and learned that maintenance was announced.

“In order to continue to deliver you the best online games experience, we will be performing maintenance on the network this Thursday, July 26th. This maintenance will start at approximately 8:00 am PDT (9:00am MDT / 10:00am CDT /11:00 am EDT) and end around 11:00pm PDT on Thursday, July 26th (1:00am MDT / 2:00am CDT / 3:00am EDT on Friday, July 27th).

During this maintenance period, you may receive a message that states “PlayStation Network is undergoing maintenance” when attempting to access the PlayStation Store or PlayStation Home. As long as you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance (meaning: any time since July 21st), you WILL be able to play games online and enjoy apps such as Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period. So if you haven’t signed in to PSN in the last few days, we suggest you do so before the maintenance period begins Thursday morning.”

So perhaps it was bad timing that he signed up for PSN+ during a maintenance window.  He continues to get messages that his licenses are invalid and I’m wondering if it is because it has a non-factory part in it?  Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.  I would appreciate any feedback from readers on this.

In addition to his issues, he commented about how irritating it is to patiently wait during the download of a game, then to wait longer while the game installs.  After that, to click on the game only to discover that there is an update that MUST be installed.  When you finally get to the point where you can actually play the game – you have lost some of your excitement.  This is an area where Microsoft has Sony beat.  With XBox Live, you download the game and then start playing.

I’m going to try a poll to get your opinion.

3 thoughts on “VGT – PlayStation Plus Network Isn’t Perfect

  1. I wouldnt have an issue with putting a replacement laser in the system if it wasnt broken already. Look on the web… lots of people with the PSN issues and lasers going bad. I like how they announced it, on the web site only. Yea I go onto the Sony web site every day just to make sure it isnt going down after work. Who does that?

    Remember in 2011 it was down for days, that wasnt announced, it was hacked.
    http://www.wired.com/gamelife/2011/04/playstation-network-hacked/

    I want to love the service….but my first impressions are really bad.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s